Mt. Pleasant Personal Injury Attorney
Call for a Free Consultation 843.588.5302
Mt. Pleasant Personal Injury Blog Stay Informed & Up-to-Date on Your Legal Community.

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim in South Carolina?

If you’ve been injured by the wrongful actions of someone else, it is important to act quickly and file a claim before the statute of limitations expires. Over time, evidence can deteriorate, and memories of witnesses may become inaccurate. The statute of limitations is a time limit that helps ensure evidence and witness testimonies are as reliable as possible. It also helps protect defendants from the threat of a lawsuit for decades after an accident. Our firm has a detailed knowledge of federal and state laws, and we understand the importance of paying attention to the timelines of each case.

Here’s what you need to know:

In the state of South Carolina, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 3 years from the date of the accident. If you fail to file a lawsuit within 3 years of the accident, your claim may be denied, and you may be unable to receive a settlement. We will discuss your options and work tirelessly for your case as you seek to hold negligent or reckless individuals accountable. Whatever your situation, we will answer your questions and guide you through the legal process.

Lawton Law Firm provides efficient representation to injured clients in South Carolina. Our Mt. Pleasant personal injury attorneys will use tailored legal strategies to build your case, and will aggressively uphold justice from those responsible. Call our firm today at (843) 588-5302 to schedule a free initial consultation with a member of our team.